RSS

If you’re having important thoughts, you must be in the shower

12 Sep

I used to have all these random thoughts floating through my head at the most inopportune time – while driving, while showering, while standing in line at the DMV.  Without fail, those ideas would escape me before I could get to a place to write them down, no matter how hard I tried to retain them in my brain.  I have written the most beautiful prose and the most insightful blog posts without pen and paper (or other mode of documentation).  You just haven’t seen them because of the lack of ability to document them.

I’ve kept a standard 3×3 post-it note pad in my car for several years now, as well as a pencil.  Although it’s not advisable, I’ve been known to write while driving (note – I don’t take my eyes off the road as I write, or I write at stoplights).  The results aren’t pretty, but the thought at least gets on paper.

Do *not* try this at home

I have also used my bathroom mirror as a scratch-pad for years, writing thoughts and to do lists in dry erase marker.  But someone recently pointed me to this nifty invention:  The Waterproof Notebook.  Genius!!  Never miss a brilliant idea again!

AquaNote

I’ve been known to use whatever is handy at other times – bill envelopes, paper napkins, the extra blank page usually in the back of a book, boarding passes, the white space in magazines.  But I finally found a good sized notebook that will fit in almost all my purses.  It’s big enough to actually write thoughts in, but not so big that it won’t fit in most of my purses.  Perfect.

Except…I’ve had it for three months now, and it’s damn near blank.  All I have in it is the name of a wine someone keeps looking for, and the dimensions of a shelf I need in the kitchen.

One day last week I did have a brilliant flash of something, and was so excited when I reached in and pulled out my little notebook.  Finally!  Something important to write down!

Wait, where’s my pen?

*sigh*  This is what happens when you come prepared.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Random

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
