RSS

I said it was *not* a full edit!

02 Aug

As I mentioned in my last post, I decided to print out my current WIP in order to get a handle on the story.  I have a beginning, a middle, and an end, I just can’t seem to connect them all (actually, it’s more that I can’t connect the middle and the end together).  After struggling with the computerized version for several months, I wondered if printing the whole thing out would help.  I very emphatically told myself (and others) that this was not a full edit – I was not going to be editing for content, spelling, grammar, or any of the other small details.  I was focusing on the Big Picture.

But how can you ignore these small mistakes?  I see them, move to correct, stop myself, remind myself that’s not what I want to do right now, skim several more sentences with that mistake still strobing in my mind, trying like crazy to stop myself from going back and correcting.

I’m only successful about half the time…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in The Writing Process

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “I said it was *not* a full edit!

  1. Writing Jobs

    August 2, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writers Wanted

     
  2. Nicole

    August 4, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    LOL – I guess that is why publishing houses assign editors to books. I know what you mean though – sometimes it’s hard to focus on the big picture when you get mired in the details…such as the one you’ve shown above.

    Great to see you blogging regularly on this blog. 🙂

     
    • Sara

      August 6, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Thanks Nicole!

       
  3. Pat

    August 6, 2012 at 4:49 am

    For me, it’s always a full edit.
    If you don’t correct it now, you might miss it next time. And how can you ignore stuff you know to be plainly wrong. Sometimes those mistakes are just embarrassing. Words like ‘their’, ‘bear’ it’s’ , where you know what you should have typed and know that are wrong, typos to you, will just look ignorant if they slip past you.
    And it is totally possible to read something seven times and still miss something.
    Be nit-picky.
    And then get someone else to read it who is even worse than you.

     
    • Sara

      August 6, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Hi Pat! I get what you’re saying, and you’re absolutely right. I’m just so scared of getting bogged down with the small stuff that I can’t concentrate on the more important things at this point. Surely there’s a happy medium in there somewhere, right?

       

Leave a Reply

 
